Monday, April 21, 2014

Alphabet Season Books

Did you read my review on the new Alphabet seasons books written by Kathy-Jo Wargin and available from Zonderkidz?  If you didn't, be sure to click to read the review on the Winter book.  Today I am going to share with you the summer and fall books. 

F Is for Fireflies: God's Summertime Alphabet & P Is for Pumpkin: God's Harvest Alphabet are the second and third books in the seasons series.  


Each book focuses on two levels.  First is a rhyme about the season (summer or fall).  The second level is how each page of the book uses a different letter from the alphabet (from a - z) to tell about the season.  While not a story with a plot, the book flows very well explaining God's creations during each season.  Each page begins with (letter) is for ____  and then goes on to explain the word using rhyming lines.  The letter is capitalized any time a word begins with that sound.  Because of the two levels, I suggest reading one at a time instead of both as it breaks the continuity. 

Here is an example of the rhyme level from P Is for Pumpkin: God's Harvest Alphabet:

Ravens are flying in the fall sky,
black against orange as each one floats by...
...over the Scarecrow, all stuffed witht hay.
A reminder that God watches us each day.
The illustrations are soft and detailed show many different levels of season.  The people show emotion in their activities. 

This series is delightful.  I hope to read many more in Kathy-jo Wargin's series!  These books would be wonderful for a study of the Four Seasons and Letter of the Week practice.  I have also added the books to the Letter P Ideas and Letter F Ideas. 

Thank you to Zonderkidz for allowing me to review this fun books.

No comments :

Post a Comment

The Our Out-of-Sync Life blog focuses on encouraging women to deepen their spiritual life, simplify daily tasks, and impress Jesus on the children around them.